Guide Dog: Take II; Day 1 Arrival

Some very exciting things are happening! A few weeks ago, I received a call from Guide Dogs for the Blind letting me know that they had an open spot for training November 23 to Dec 6 and they had a dog ready for me. needless to say, I was overjoyed that God had set such a miracle in my path. My prayers had been answered in every way.

So here I am on this lovely Sunday morning, sitting in the back of my best friend Sarah,s car as we drive to Boring, OR for training. I honestly can’t believe this is actually happening but I am so grateful that it is. Tonight I will meet my classmates and settle into my room for the next two weeks. It feels a little bitter sweet making this drive because Retha is not with me but I know she is with a wonderful family and is living the life she deserves. I am so very excited to meet my new partner tomorrow afternoon and am hopeful that we will be a good team.

As I did when I was training with Retha, I will post daily updates of our two-week training so stay tuned hear of adventures with my new best friend.

Thank you all for your support and encouragement through this process. The time I spent without a guide was some of the most lonely and desperate time I’ve experienced. But within that discomfort and struggle, I believe I found myself. I learned that a cane does not define me and it is possible to live a life without sight and still carry myself with grace and humility. I know now that God gave me this time to discover more of my identity as a capable young woman who happens to be blind. I confess that I am thankful this time is over but I understand that all of this is just another part of my journey.

As I enter this new chapter with a new partner by my side, I am confident.
Confident that the lessons I learned without a dog will endure.
Confident that neither fear nor insecurity will hold me back.
Confident that I will persevere as it is my God given habit.

About Ali S

Please read more on my About page.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

