Seattle Day

Today Retha and I spent the day in Seattle with my mom. We had such a great time but there were some interesting moments along the way. I crossed a street at the very end of the light and my mom had to hold her hand up to stop the cars. I definitely learned from it. Sometimes being around so many people and cars can be overwhelming. I need to remember not to feel rushed and to take my time despite the comments of people around me. The rest of the crossings went well but on the way back to the car we encountered the dumbest of dumb people. At an up curb a man walked right in front of Retha and made a move to hit her in the face……… but missed! Luckily my mom saw it and told him off. The people around me called him out too. This is a perfect example of why I like being blind, because if I saw him he would have really regretted making a move at my dog! I have no doubt that I would have acted and I hope I would have controlled my temper enough to represent Guide Dogs with poise but assertiveness. He isn’t the first and wont be the last stupid person that we encounter. Definitely an interesting day with numerous learning experiences.

About Ali S

Please read more on my About page.
This entry was posted in Guide Dogs. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Seattle Day

  1. ctoering says:

    oh Ali, I am so sorry that someone was so rude and completely out of line to you and Retha! I am glad your mom was there to give him a good lesson in how to treat a guide dog 🙂 (or any dog!)

Leave a Reply

