Riding Forward

As the Olympics get underway I am reminded of my passion for riding and my ultimate dream of competing in the Paralympics for the United States. There are many mountains that need to be summited before that journey can even begin but I know that if it is in God’s plan for me then He will create a way. I haven’t been as dedicated to my riding this past year due to challenges with vision loss and school. Now that I have Retha and my life seems to be coming together again I am finding myself missing training with Watchman. I miss learning new things with him and having the feeling of accomplishment after every ride. I think I am finally at a place where I have the desire and ability to train again and start pushing myself to achieve my goals. It is an exciting realization and I am so excited to see what comes of it.

About Ali S

Please read more on my About page.
This entry was posted in Olympics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Riding Forward

  1. Tish says:

    You ARE TRULY an Inspiration!! Love you Girl!! 🙂

  2. Jennifer Riley says:

    Ali, I hope you choose to pursue competitive riding again. The bond between horse and rider is a special one. The trust communicated back and forth is similar, I think, to that between Guide Dog and human. Animals know what we need when we need it which makes them all the more amazing. I would feel like a large part of my life were missing if I wasn’t riding and I feel the same way about my dogs. My horse just knows what kind of day I’ve had even though I haven’t told him and the dogs are always happy to see me when I get home. I smile when I think that they are just as excited whether I’ve been gone for 5 minutes or 5 hours. The exuberent greetings make me hope to become the person my dog already thinks I am.

Leave a Reply

