Homeward Bound

What a whirlwind of a weekend! Yesterday Retha and I had the opportunity to meet with Rethas puppy raisers before our graduation. They are truly the kindest and most selfless people I have ever met. Retha definitely recognized them and was so excited to see the other part of her family. It was so great to hear stories about Retha and just to have their support. I know we will remain close as Retha and I grow together. The graduation was amazing as well. I felt so blessed to have the support of so many great people. It was really hard to say goodbye to my classmates after becoming so close but they are people I hope I will be friends with for the rest of my life. On the ride back to Washington Retha slept on my lap the whole way. It was a pretty simple trip. Retha and I barely made it in the door before falling asleep but we did introduce Retha to our golden retriever Drifter. They get along so great and I think they will be buddies after a while. Today was our first day home and it was awesome. We slept basically all day today which was so well needed. It was awesome to fall into a routine at home but it is definitely hard to adjust to such a structured schedule at GDB. Later we walked our very first route together and I was blown away by how smooth it was and how hard Retha tries to please. We went out to dinner and Retha sat quietly under the table like a little angel. It felt so great to walk at a fast pace in my own town and not worry. We encountered a few dog distractions but she worked well past them. Tomorrow I think we are heading to Seattle for a Pike Place adventure which should be super fun. I am so excited for all that is to come. There are so many people who helped me get this far and I really hope I can somehow give back to each and every one of them.

About Ali S

Please read more on my About page.
This entry was posted in Guide Dogs and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Homeward Bound

  1. Mary says:

    Dear Ali,
    I’m so happy that you transition home is going so smoothly. It was a pleasure to have you in class and I’m sorry I didn’t get to say goodbye yesterday, but graduation day is always so hectic! It’s not goodbye anyway…it’s til we meet again! I wish you and Ritha a good long partnership together and can only imagine the places you’ll go! Enjoy your new independence and safe travels! Mary the nurse…aka Mama Duck

  2. Kelby CarlsonKelby Carlson says:

    Hey Ali! You should add me on Facebook (because I can’t figure out how to spell your last name *smile.) I’m glad things are going well! I got home yesterday but Elvis and I haven’t gotten to do any routes yet.

Leave a Reply

