Working Hard

This morning Retha and I went on a doubles route with another guide dog team in class. We struggled on this route but everything was a learning experience. Retha ran me into a telephone pole and stopped way too early on an up curb. I was distracted because it was super loud and there was a ton going on. It was also a new route so I didn’t know what to expect. On the way back Retha ran straight through two crossings because they were flat curbs and I didn’t realize it until we approached the next one. I am so glad that Retha is testing me though. Even on a bad day she is still very safe and focused. Dogs are just like people and have off days too. I learned more from this route than any other route while I have been here. We also did some practice in stores which was perfect. Later in the day I received the news that a second classmate is leaving early without a dog. This is just crazy now. I am so heart-broken for their loss but I know that there is a fantastic dog coming their way eventually. Sometimes things work out differently than you might expect but there is something to be learned from every situation. It will be extremely hard to say goodbye to such an amazing and deserving person but this isn’t the end. As a class we have promised to stay in touch and hopefully meet up sometime in the future. I am starting to get excited for graduation and coming home. I feel so lucky to have such a great guide in Retha and blessed to meet such incredible people. Thank you Lord for bringing these beautiful people into my life and creating such warm and wonderful relationships between all of us. Thank you for my lovely Retha. She is truly my angel.

About Ali S

Please read more on my About page.
This entry was posted in Guide Dogs and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Working Hard

  1. Anita Ward says:

    Ali, I find myself speechless at times when I watch your journey from afar. Honey, you are an amazing human being. I have never seen anyone put so much effort into life. It is truly inspiring, You deserve every blessing coming to you. So many people are going to be changed by your life experiences, but more importantly, by the way you handle them. I Love you so much and could not be prouder. Love, Auntie Nita

Leave a Reply

