First night at GDB

Although I was a little nervous when we first got here I settled in really quickly tonight. I am one of six minors receiving a dog this week and my classmates and I are already really tight. We learned some basic rules and got some basic equipment but the main purpose of tonight was to become familiar with the dorms. Tomorrow we start some command training in the morning and then after lunch we will be meeting our new partners. I am so excited! I am already feeling at home. It is so comforting to be in a place where everything is set up for people who cannot see. I have really enjoyed learning about my classmates and comparing stories and ideas. Its nice to run into things around people who totally get it. Time to get some rest and prepare for dog day tomorrow!

About Ali S

Please read more on my About page.
This entry was posted in Guide Dogs. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to First night at GDB

  1. Following you on the wonderful, blessed journey the Lord has paved for you. Will continue to pray for you and your new friend (guide dog)!! Bless you, sister.

  2. ken.steenis@snoco.org says:

    So excited for you sweetie!!!! Soak it all in and enjoy the experience……….

  3. georgia says:

    i Ali! I am so proud and excited for you! This is a fantastic opportunity and I am happy you are making some new human friends too! I couldn’t be happier for you. Can’t wait to hear more about it, please blog more soon! Love, your (favorite) aunt Georgia

  4. Georgia Steenis says:

    WOW Ali, I just read your “about” and I think you have incredible writing skills. Perhaps you should write a kids book of your own, I think your story would be a huge hit. Georgia

Leave a Reply

